Tuesday, January 22, 2019

The SATUK 2019/2020 elections are scheduled to take place on Thursday, 14th February, 2019 from 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. This will be preceded by the election of delegates by each academic department on 13th February, 2019 from 6:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

We wish to bring to your attention the following;

A. Nomination of Candidates

i) The nomination forms for aspirants shall be available on the Student Portal from Wednesday, 23rd January, 2019 and will close on Tuesday, 28th January 2019 at midninght;

ii) The deadline for returning the nomination papers for Council and Congress aspirants shall be on Tuesday, 29th January, 2019 at 3:00 p.m. in Block D Room 2.

iii) For nomination of delegates, each Department in the University shall present to the undersigned a maximum list of six (6) candidates, three (3) male and three (3) female by Tuesday, 29th January, mid-day to facilitate early preparation of ballot papers for Electoral College Elections. The shortlisted delegates should present soft copies of their current passport-size photographs to the undersigned;

B. Qualifications For The Candidates For Election

A member shall qualify to be elected as a delegate if at the time of election he/she;

i) Is a registered and bona fide student at TU-K and a paid up ordinary member;

ii) Is not vying for any elective position in SATUK;

iii) Has at least two semesters left for study, with a minimum of 10 course units; has at least completed two semesters with a full load of academic study totaling to at least 12 course units including IBL;

iv) A class Representative who wishes to participate must first relinquish their position in writing;

v) Must have passed the previous University examination and must not be having any pending supplementary examinations;

vi) Must be of good conduct and must not be having any pending disciplinary cases;

vii) All candidates shall submit the relevant clearance forms as prescribed on the nomination forms.

C. Disqualification from Election

The following categories of members are not eligible to vie as delegates;

i) A member of the current SATUK Congress;

ii) Students who have not been in TU-K for at least two semesters;

iii) Those who have been subjected to any disciplinary sanctions by the University for violation of the student code of conduct and have not been cleared by the University Management or senate;

iv) A person who has been convicted of a criminal offence by a court of law.

D. Vetting of Nominees

For the vetting exercise, the following shall apply;

i) Each department shall appoint a team of not more than five (5) members for vetting the candidates.

ii) The vetting exercise for the nominees shall commence from 29th January, 2019 and the names of final nominees pinned on the noticeboards by latest 4th February, 2019;

iii) All candidates must attach a current official passport photo;

iv) All candidates must comply with B and C above;

v) All candidates must comply with any other suitable criteria set by the departmental vetting team.

E. Election Rules and Procedures

i) Votting shall commence at 8:00 a.m. and end at 1:00 p.m. on 13th February, 2019;

ii) Every voter shall be required to produce a valid student identity card before verification from the nominal roll;

iii) Each voter shall be issued with one ballot paper bearing names of the contesting candidates and cast his/her vote for only one candidate of their choice;

iv) Results shall be tallied and ranked from the highest to the lowest upon which compliance with the two-thirds gender rule shall apply (i.e. if 1st two are male,the 3rd candidate shall be the highest ranked female, and vice versa);

v) The Presiding Officer shall present these results to the Returning Officer;

vi) The Electoral Board shall the announce the results immediately after the vote tallying process and cause them to be published within the University immediately after;

vii) Relevant election rules and procedures ascribed in the SATUK Constitution shall apply.

Please take note of the deadlines and participate in exercising your democratic rights.

Chairman, SATUK 2019/2020 Electoral Board.